User avatar
downhill
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 9:29 am

Have to Select Restart/Shutdown Option Twice Before Either Works

Wed Feb 06, 2019 3:50 am

I also don't get a prompt about whether I really want to shutdown after selecting the Shutdown option the second time. The machine just shuts down.

Using Solus 3.9999 with current updates. My machine specs from inxi:

Code: Select all

Machine:   Device: laptop System: ASUSTeK product: ET2321I v: 0801
           Mobo: ASUSTeK model: ET2321I v: Rev 1.xx
           UEFI: American Megatrends v: 0801 date: 11/18/2014

CPU:       Dual core Intel Core i7-4500U (-HT-MCP-) cache: 4096 KB 
           clock speeds: max: 3000 MHz 1: 2399 MHz 2: 2400 MHz 3: 2401 MHz
           4: 2402 MHz
The machine is actually an all-in-one desktop that uses laptop components. I guess the laptop components keep it running cooler.
Last edited by downhill on Wed Feb 06, 2019 8:52 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Lorien
Posts: 96
Joined: Wed May 03, 2017 2:05 am

Re: Have to Select Suspend/Shutdown Option Twice Before Either Works

Wed Feb 06, 2019 4:01 am

You are not alone:

https://www.reddit.com/r/SolusProject/c ... our_buggy/

https://github.com/solus-project/budgie ... ssues/1745

The solution seems to be to rollback budgie-desktop to version 10.5-191-1 for now.

User avatar
downhill
Posts: 118
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2018 9:29 am

Re: Have to Select Restart/Shutdown Option Twice Before Either Works

Wed Feb 06, 2019 4:05 am

Thank you! I'll live with it for now. It's not a show stopper. I didn't experience the issue when I've used Solus under a VM. I will not be using the Budgie desktop very often for long. I will work on setting up an Openbox and Tint2 DE.

pettycoder
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 7:32 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Have to Select Restart/Shutdown Option Twice Before Either Works

Tue Feb 12, 2019 1:49 am

I can confirm that I encounter similar issues. In my case it just logs me out and no dialog box appears to confirm whether I want to proceed (which apparently also happens to others, see this comment: https://github.com/solus-project/budgie ... -460839960). According to the bug-tracker nobody is assigned to this issue yet. I am posting this reply in the hope that this bug gets some more attention.

brent
Posts: 277
Joined: Tue Apr 11, 2017 2:31 am
Location: desert usa

Re: Have to Select Restart/Shutdown Option Twice Before Either Works

Tue Feb 12, 2019 2:40 am

Good you threw this out for the general public--sometimes a wrinkle develops and I think I'm the only one...

Occasionally there is a hiccup that ain't quite right and this is one of them. No, it's not a show stopper.

I can vouch its a shutdown select TWICE for me too, and no dialogue box. While I appreciate (I think) the succinctness, however, as a user I like to have the options displayed. No doubt this is a compatibility issue of some sort that'll be worked out eventually.

pettycoder
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Apr 10, 2017 7:32 pm
Location: Switzerland

Re: Have to Select Restart/Shutdown Option Twice Before Either Works

Thu Feb 14, 2019 12:09 pm

Seems this issue has been fixed and will land soon during regular updates (aka Friday sync), see this post. Thank you very much @JoshStrobl!

Return to “Other Questions”