sunnyflunk
Development Team
Posts: 3007
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 11:35 pm

Re: Installing a Brother printer driver

Mon Jun 25, 2018 12:39 am

Rainmachine wrote:
Fri Jun 22, 2018 12:22 pm
Hmmm, the Brother HL-1210W IS listed in the Software Center but when I installed it through the Software Center it did not show up in the printerlist. That's why i mentioned it. :D
I've had a look and you're right. Now fixed in next sync https://dev.solus-project.com/R4259:546 ... beaac6d527

Or can install it now via

Code: Select all

sudo eopkg install https://packages.solus-project.com/unstable/b/brother-hl1210w/brother-hl1210w-3.0.1-2-1-x86_64.eopkg
A perfect thing to make a bug report about...it was the only model so far where the user who I made it for never reported back unfortunately (so wasn't aware I needed to fix it).

northstar
Posts: 45
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2017 10:38 am

Re: Installing a Brother printer driver

Thu Aug 02, 2018 12:19 pm

DerDave wrote:
Thu May 03, 2018 4:41 pm
For my Brother DCP-357c the latest suggestion also worked:

Installing rpm and glibc-32bit from the Solus repos and then run the official Brother driver install script.

Thanks everyone!
For my Brother DCP-195C , I installed rpm and glibc-32bit from the Solus repos and then run the official Brother drive install script for DCP-195C. ( don't know why glibc-32bit is needed because my PC is 64-bit, but installed it anyway)

The printer works.

The scanner does not work because simple-scan "finds" my microsoft web-cam instead of the brother-device.
When I start scanning, I am getting a picture of myself instead of a scan-image.
Funny.

In the settings of simple-scan there is an option to choose the scanner.
There the web-cam is listed as the only "scanner-device" to select.
No brother DCP-195C .

The DCP-195C needs brscan3 . It is installed.

Code: Select all

$ rpm -qa | grep brscan3
brscan3-0.2.13-1.x86_64
What can I do ?
Maybe somewhere in a config-file replacing the webcam by the brother device ?

In the meanwhile I found this tutorial
viewtopic.php?f=11&t=12233&p=39909&hilit=brother#p39909
I installed a few things via the Software center:
Before you start following packages needs to be installed:
- rpm
- a2ps
- glibc-32bit
- psutils
- libusb-compat

You can install them in Software Center.
Then I ran the driver-install script from brother again.

After a reboot, simple-scan suddenly said: "Ready to scan DCP-195C"
When I click on "start scan", it says "cannot connect to scanner".

When running simple-scan from the terminal " sudo simple-scan" as root, it connects to the scanner and does scan properly.

Now just a small change should do the job, but I cannot find the way to manage it.

sunnyflunk
Development Team
Posts: 3007
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 11:35 pm

Re: Installing a Brother printer driver

Sun Aug 05, 2018 10:57 pm

You will need to create a udev rules file for your printer/scanner.

https://dev.solus-project.com/source/br ... can4.rules as an example but will need to match the device output from

Code: Select all

lsusb
for your device

rosabellagm
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 06, 2018 7:13 am

Re: Installing a Brother printer driver

Mon Aug 06, 2018 7:17 am

I had to install both the rpm and glibc-32 bit packages and run the script.

TheVE
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2018 8:13 pm

Re: Installing a Brother printer driver

Mon Aug 20, 2018 8:19 pm

How might I request a Brother driver be added to the repo?

I have an HL-3140CW which I was able to get working with the instructions in the OP using the two .deb files, but it would be nice to not have to do that again.

The only thing I had to change was to create /var/spool/lpd for the script to run successfully.

Cheers!

User avatar
kyrios
Posts: 2304
Joined: Thu Sep 22, 2016 4:20 pm

Re: Installing a Brother printer driver

Mon Aug 20, 2018 10:10 pm

TheVE wrote:
Mon Aug 20, 2018 8:19 pm
How might I request a Brother driver be added to the repo?

I have an HL-3140CW which I was able to get working with the instructions in the OP using the two .deb files, but it would be nice to not have to do that again.

The only thing I had to change was to create /var/spool/lpd for the script to run successfully.

Cheers!
Check on the help center.

Return to “Tutorials”